Would you like to receive DawgNation news alerts? Excellent! News alerts will be displayed in your browser.

Andrew Thomas, Rodrigo Blankenship earn SEC Player of the Year honors

The awards keep coming for both Andrew Thomas and Rodrigo Blankenship.

Both players were named First Team All-Conference for their performances during the season. And now each player has earned an individual honor as well.

Thomas earned the Jacobs Blocking Trophy, which goes to the conference’s top blocker. Thomas has been a standout left tackle for the Bulldogs all season, as he served as the anchor for a Georgia offensive line that gave up the fewest sacks in the SEC on a per-game basis.

Thomas — a junior — showed all season why many expect him to be the top offensive linemen taken in the 2020 NFL Draft.

Blankenship meanwhile was named the SEC’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year. He is the fourth Bulldog to win the award, joining David Greene, Aaron Murray and Chris Conley.

Related: J.R. Reed, D’Andre Swift highlight Bulldogs on 2019 All-SEC Coaches team

Award season isn’t done for Blankenship, as he is also a finalist for the Lou Groza Award and the Burlsworth Trophy. The former goes to the nation’s top kicker, while the latter is awarded annually to the best player that was a walk-on. Blankenship made 25 of his 31 attempts while making all 44 of his extra points this season.

The Bulldogs take the field for the final time this season on Jan. 1, when Georgia takes on the Baylor Bears in the Sugar Bowl. The game will be played in New Orleans.

More Georgia football stories from around DawgNation

We have a new way to comment on our DawgNation stories. To do so, you must be a registered user on the DawgNation forum. If you haven’t registered, please go to the Forum homepage on DawgNation and look for “register” on the right side.