Would you like to receive DawgNation news alerts? Excellent! News alerts will be displayed in your browser.
A. Messerschmidt/Getty Images
David Pollack was named to the College Football Hall of Fame

WATCH: SportsCenter surprises Georgia legend David Pollack with Hall of Fame announcement

Connor Riley

David Pollack is on the very short list of being the best Georgia defender of all-time. He won the 2004 Chuck Bednarik, Ronnie Lott and Rotary Lombardi Awards, in addition to being a three-time All-American.

And now he will be enshrined with some of the greats of the game as he will be inducted into 2020 College Football Hall of Fame class. He is the 19th former Bulldog player to make the hall of fame.

“We are extremely proud to announce the 2020 College Football Hall of Fame Class,” Archie Manning said. “Each of these men has established himself among the absolute best to have ever played or coached the game, and we look forward to immortalizing their incredible accomplishments.”

Pollack has also gained fame and notoriety for his work with College GameDay as an analyst.

Pollack still holds the school record for most sacks in a career with 36.0. He broke the school record for single-season sacks as he racked up 14 during the 2002 campaign that saw Georgia win the SEC. Jarvis Jones later went on to surpass Pollack’s single-season sack total with 14.5 in the 2012 campaign. Pollack was named the SEC Defensive Player of the Year in 2002 and 2004, making him the only player to win the award twice.

He is also one of only two Bulldogs to ever be a three-time All-American, with the other being Herschel Walker

During his four years at Georgia, Pollack’s teams racked up a 42-10 record, and he was a key member of the team that won the SEC in 2002 and the SEC East in 2003.

Pollack and the rest of the 2020 Hall of Fame Class will officially be inducted on Dec. 8 in New York.

2020 College Football Hall of Fame inductees


  • Lomas Brown – OT, Florida (1981-84)
  • Keith Byars – RB, Ohio State (1982-85)
  • Eric Crouch – QB, Nebraska (1998-2001)
  • Eric Dickerson – RB, Southern Methodist (1979-82)
  • Glenn Dorsey – DT, LSU (2004-07)
  • Jumbo Elliott – OT, Michigan (1984-87)
  • Jason Hanson – PK, Washington State (1988-91)
  • E.J. Henderson – LB, Maryland (1999-2002)
  • E.J. Junior – DE, Alabama (1977-80)
  • Steve McNair – QB, Alcorn State (1991-94)
  • Cade McNown – QB, UCLA (1995-98)
  • Leslie O’Neal – DT, Oklahoma State (1982-85)
  • Anthony Poindexter – DB, Virginia (1995-98)
  • David Pollack – DE, Georgia (2001-04)
  • Bob Stein – DE, Minnesota (1966-68)
  • Michael Westbrook – WR, Colorado (1991-94)
  • Elmo Wright – WR, Houston (1968-70)



  • Dick Sheridan – 121-52-5 (69.4%); Furman (1978-85), North Carolina State (1986-92)
  • Andy Talley – 258-155-2 (62.4%); St. Lawrence [NY] (1979-83), Villanova (1985-2016)


More Georgia football stories from around DawgNation

We have a new way to comment on our DawgNation stories. To do so, you must be a registered user on the DawgNation forum. If you haven’t registered, please go to the Forum homepage on DawgNation and look for “register” on the right side.