Georgia football lands 7 on All-SEC Coaches’ teams, but no Jake Fromm

Georgia football-UGA-Lamont Gaillard-Georgia-All-SEC-Coaches
Georgia senior Lamont Gaillard was named first-team All-SEC on the Coaches' ballot.

ATHENS — The No. 5-ranked Georgia football program placed three players on the All-SEC Coaches’ first team released on Tuesday, and four more on the second team.

But none of them were named Jake Fromm.

The Bulldogs’ quarterback led the SEC in completion percentage (68.4) and ranked third in the country in passing efficiency (175.8) behind Heisman Trophy finalists Kyler Murray and Tua Tagovailoa.

But Fromm did not make the first team on the Coaches’ ballot released on Tuesday or the Associated Press list released on Monday.

Tagovailoa was the first team pick on both teams, and Missouri’s Drew Lock was the second team pick.

Cornerback Deandre Baker, offensive tackle Andrew Thomas and center Lamont Gaillard were deemed first-team selections on the Coaches’ All-SEC team.

Related: Georgia football offensive line a finalist for the Joe Moore Award

Tailback D’Andre Swift, defensive end Jonathan Ledbetter, kicker Rodrigo Blankenship and returned specialist Mecole Hardman were second team picks.

SEC champion Alabama had 12 representatives on the All-SEC Coaches team, the Bulldogs had seven, and Missouri and South Carolina each had five.

The coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.

Georgia finished in the top 15 in the country in total offense (13th), total defense (13th), scoring offense (13h) and scoring defense (10th).

The Bulldogs’ offensive line unit was named on Tuesday as one of three finalists for the Joe Moore Award, which goes to the nation’s best offensive line. Oklahoma and Alabama are the other two finalists.

Georgia’s only first-team Associated Press All-SEC member as announced on Monday was Deandre Baker.

Gaillard and Thomas were second team picks according to the Associated Press, meaning the Bulldogs didn’t have any offensive players on that first team despite leading the SEC in rushing.

Bulldogs’ outside linebacker D’Andre Walker, who finished tied four fourth in the SEC with eight sacks, was a second-team All-SEC pick according to the Associated Press, but he was left off the All-SEC Coaches Team.

The SEC individual award winners will be released Wednesday and the All-Freshman Team will be announced Thursday.

2018 All-SEC Coaches’ Team



 TE- Jace Sternberger, Texas A&M

OL – Jonah Williams, Alabama

OL – Andrew Thomas, Georgia

OL – Greg Little, Ole Miss

OL – Bunchy Stallings, Kentucky

OC – Lamont Gaillard, Georgia

WR –  A.J. Brown, Ole Miss

WR – Jerry Jeudy, Alabama

QB- Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

RB – Benny Snell, Kentucky

RB – Trayveon Williams, Texas A&M

AP – Deebo Samuel, South Carolina


DL- Quinnen Williams, Alabama

DL – Jeffery Simmons, Mississippi State

DL – Jachai Polite, Florida

DL – Montez Sweat, Mississippi State

LB – Josh Allen, Kentucky

LB – Devin White, LSU

LB – Deshaun Davis, Auburn

DB – Deandre Baker, Georgia

DB – Grant Delpit, LSU

DB – Greedy Williams, LSU

DB – Deionte Thompson, Alabama


PK – Cole Tracy, LSU   

P – Braden Mann, Texas A&M

RS – Deebo Samuel, South Carolina



 TE – Irv Smith Jr., Alabama

OL – Martez Ivey, Florida

OL – Alex Leatherwood, Alabama

OL – Deion Calhoun, Mississippi State

OL – Zack Bailey, South Carolina

OC -Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama

WR – Deebo Samuel, South Carolina

WR  – Emanuel Hall, Missouri

QB  — Drew Lock, Missouri

RB — D’Andre Swift, Georgia

RB — Damien Harris, Alabama

AP —Lynn Bowden, Kentucky


 DL – Isaiah Buggs, Alabama

DL – Jonathan Ledbetter, Georgia

DL – Terry Beckner, Missouri

DL – Derrick Brown, Auburn

LB – Dylan Moses, Alabama

LB – Cale Garrett, Missouri   

LB – Mack Wilson, Alabama

DB – CJ Henderson, Florida

DB – Johnathan Abram, Mississippi State

DB – Joejuan Williams, Vanderbilt

DB – DeMarkus Acy, Missouri


 PK – Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia

PK – Joseph Charlton, South Carolina

RS- Mecole Hardman, Georgia

Associated Press All-SEC Team



u-WR – A.J. Brown, Mississippi (u), 6-1, 230, Jr., Starkville, Mississippi

WR – Jerry Jeudy, Alabama, 6-1, 192, So., Deerfield Beach, Florida

T – Greg Little, Mississippi, 6-6, 325, Jr., Allen, Texas

T – Jonah Williams, Alabama, 6-5, 301, Jr., Folsom, California

G – Bunchy Stallings, Kentucky, 6-3, 305, Sr., McComb, Mississippi

G – Tre’Vour Wallace-Simms, Missouri, 6-5, 330, Jr., East St. Louis, Illinois

C – Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama, 6-4, 309, Sr., Cedar Falls, Iowa

TE – Jace Sternberger, Texas A&M, 6-4, 250, Jr., Kingfisher, Oklahoma

u-QB – Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama, 6-1, 218, So., Ewa Beach, Hawaii

RB – Benny Snell Jr., Kentucky, 5-11, 223, Jr., Westerville, Ohio

RB – Trayveon Williams, Texas A&M, 5-9, 200, Jr., Houston

PK – Cole Tracy, LSU, 5-11, 188, Sr., Camarillo, California

All-purpose – Deebo Samuel, South Carolina, 6-0, 210, Sr., Inman, South Carolina


DE – Jachai Polite, Florida, 6-2, 242, Jr., Daytona Beach, Florida

DE – Montez Sweat, Mississippi State, 6-6, 245, Sr., Stone Mountain, Georgia

DT – Jeffery Simmons, Mississippi State, 6-4, 300, Jr., Macon, Mississippi

DT – Quinnen Williams, Alabama, 6-4, 295, So., Birmingham, Alabama

u-LB Josh Allen, Kentucky, 6-5, 260, Sr., Montclair, New Jersey

LB – Deshaun Davis, Auburn, 5-11, 233, Sr., Prichard, Alabama

LB – Devin White, LSU, 6-1, 240, Jr., Springhill, Louisiana

CB – Deandre Baker, Georgia, 5-11, 185, Sr., Miami

CB – Greedy Williams, LSU, 6-3, 184, So., Shreveport, Louisiana

S – Johnathan Abram, Mississippi State, 6-0, 215, Sr., Columbia, Mississippi

S – Grant Delpit, LSU, 6-3, 203, So., Houston

P – Braden Mann, Texas A&M, 5-11, 190, Jr., Houston



WR – Kalija Lipscomb, Vanderbilt, 6-1, 201, Jr., New Orleans

WR – Deebo Samuel, South Carolina, 6-0, 210, Sr., Inman, South Carolina

T – Martez Ivey, Florida, 6-5, 306, Sr., Apopka, Florida

T – Andrew Thomas, Georgia, 6-5, 320, So., Lithonia, Georgia

G – Zack Bailey, South Carolina, 6-6, 314, Sr., Summerville, South Carolina

G – Hjalte Froholdt, Arkansas, 6-5, 315, Sr., Svendborg, Denmark

C – Lamont Gaillard, Georgia, 6-2, 308, Sr., Fayetteville, North Carolina

TE – Jared Pinkney, Vanderbilt, Jr., 6-4, 255, Norcross, Georgia

QB – Drew Lock, Missouri, 6-4, 225, Sr., Lee’s Summit, Missouri

RB – D’Andre Swift, Georgia, 5-9, 215, So., Philadelphia

RB – Ke’Shawn Vaughn, Vanderbilt, 5-10, 222, Jr., Nashville, Tennessee

PK – Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia, 6-1, 191, Jr., Marietta, Georgia

All-purpose – Mecole Hardman, Georgia, 5-11, 183, Jr., Bowman, Georgia


DE – Isaiah Buggs, Alabama, 6-5, 286, Sr., Ruston, Louisiana

DE – Raekwon Davis, Alabama, 6-7, 316, Jr., Meridian, Mississippi

DT – Derrick Brown, Auburn, 6-5, 320, Jr., Sugar Hill, Georgia

DT – Terry Beckner Jr., Missouri, 6-4, 295, Sr., East St. Louis, Illinois

LB – De’Jon Harris, Arkansas, 6-0, 245, Jr., Harvey, Louisiana

LB – Erroll Thompson, Mississippi State, 6-1, 250, So., Florence, Alabama

LB —D’Andre Walker, Georgia, 6-3, 245, Sr., Fairburn, Georgia

CB – Cameron Dantzler, Mississippi State, 6-2, 175, So., Hammond, Louisiana

CB – Joejuan Williams, Vanderbilt, 6-3, 210, Jr., Nashville, Tennessee

S – Mike Edwards, Kentucky, 6-0, 201, Sr., Cincinnati

S – Deionte Thompson, Alabama, 6-2, 196, Jr., Orange, Texas

P – Zach Von Rosenberg, LSU, 6-5, 245, So., Lake Charles, Louisiana



UGA News