Would you like to receive DawgNation news alerts? Excellent! News alerts will be displayed in your browser.
Tony Walsh/UGA
Georgia won't start fall practice until Aug. 17.

SEC to push back start of fall practices for 2020 season

The Georgia Bulldogs, along with the rest of the SEC, will have to wait just a little bit longer before putting on the pads this fall.

After pushing back the start of the season to Sept. 26, the league will also push back the start of practices to Aug. 17, the league announced. The news was first reported by Sports Illustrated’s Ross Dellenger. Teams were able to start practicing 29 days prior to their first game as originally scheduled. So for most teams that was Aug. 7. For Georgia, that date was Aug. 9.

Related: WATCH: SEC’s schedule announcement means big changes for Georgia football

The Aug. 17 start date means that teams will have 40 days prior to the start of the college football season. Over that time period, teams will be allowed to practice 25 times. Teams must adhere to the 20-hour per week practice rule in that time and must have two off-days a week.

The later practice start date also impacts the summer access with walk-through periods that teams are currently going through. Teams will be allowed to continue under current NCAA guidelines allowing up to 20 combined hours of strength and conditioning work and football meetings and walk-throughs until Friday. Starting this Friday through Aug. 16, teams will only be allowed 14 combined hours, with six going to strength and conditioning, three going to meetings and five going to football.

Another change is that in the period from Friday to Aug. 16, teams will not be permitted to use a football while going through walk-throughs, something that is currently allowed under the current NCAA protocols.

Related: The big questions that still need answers as Georgia football moves to SEC-only 2020 schedule

The league has not yet announced the schedule for this upcoming season. Teams will play 10 conference games. The teams will play the eight SEC teams that were on their original schedule to go along with two more cross-division opponents. So Georgia will play Alabama, Auburn, Florida, Tennessee, South Carolina, Missouri, Vanderbilt and Kentucky to go along with two new SEC West opponents.

Every Power Five league has announced changes to its 2020 schedule, with the Pac-12, Big Ten and SEC all going to the conference only schedules. The ACC and Big 12 will play one non-conference game, ina addition to 10 conference games for the ACC and nine for the Big 12.

With the season starting on Sept. 26, Georgia will be getting a new game date for the contest against Alabama, as the two were originally set to play on Sept. 19. Georgia will have two open dates during the season, but it is not known when those will be as the league has not announced a league-wide schedule yet.

More Georgia football stories from around DawgNaiton

We have a new way to comment on our DawgNation stories. To do so, you must be a registered user on the DawgNation forum. If you haven’t registered, please go to the Forum homepage on DawgNation and look for “register” on the right side.